Momofuku Fried Chicken

Momofuku Fried Chicken (Noodle Bar)

Rating:

Location:  171 1st Ave (bw 10th & 11th St)

A friend expressed the desire to try any of the momofuku restaurants; and having tried noodle bar and ssam before, I wanted to try something “new.”  I didn’t want to pay  for the bo ssam dinner because my mama makes a killer home-made bo ssam and there’s a key ingredient to hers that momo lacks:  motherly loooove.

I guess I got lucky with reservations because I got a Friday night reservation (11:55pm) on my 2nd try.  The reservation process was meticulous (sign-up, cc, confirmation print out) and warnings were plenty (you will get charged the full $100 if you cancel within 24 hours).  They wound up not checking the printed confirmation.

Prior to the chicken we were presented with 4 sauces, (bibim, soy, hoisen, and scallion), vegetables (lettuce, carrots, radish, mint), and mu shu wrap.  Nothing really to comment about here.

The chicken itself.  I preferred the korean style while a couple of the guys preferred the southern.  I always hated old bay, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that I wasn’t a huge fan of the southern style.  I thought it tasted burnt and way too salty.  The lettuce and wrap did make it a bit better though.  The sauces, vegetables, and wrap does make the whole experience a bit more different and unique but it was A LOT of food for 4 diners.  I would highly recommend a party larger than 6, even if the 4 diners have been famished for days. 

I wasn’t crazy about the whole fried chicken experience; the chicken didn’t change my world nor expose my palate to a whole new level.  It was decent fried chicken and honestly, it’s way too hyped for my taste buds.

maybe next time momo

-kah

1 Comment

Filed under East Village, Korean, Late night food

One response to “Momofuku Fried Chicken

  1. tontek

    the left over korean fried chicken was finger lickin’ good…it was still crazy crispy… i loved the carrots for some reason.

Leave a Reply

